Eight crypto futures venues, read from the book up
Updated: Crypto futures, September 2026
A perpetual futures venue will print its fee schedule on the front page and never show you its order book. This console prints both. Eight venues, one formula, and a depth column read every ten minutes rather than taken from a volume table.
Everything on this site starts from one reading. The public BTC perpetual book of every venue here is opened every ten minutes, what is resting within ten basis points of the mid price is recorded, and the median is what the console prints. Everything else — the fee a new account pays, the leverage ladder and the notional it holds to, how a position reaches a chain, what has to be signed before a first trade — is read in the venue's own documentation and terms on 18 September 2026 and printed with that date beside it. Where a venue reports its own open interest and turnover, that is what it is: a reported figure, taken from the CoinMarketCap derivatives ranking on 22 September 2026 and labelled as such.
- Venues scored
- 8
- every one of them runs a public BTC book that can be read from outside, without an account
- BTC resting inside 10 bps
- $95.8 million
- added across the eight books scored here, each the median of a book opened on this console's ten-minute poll, over the two days to 22 September 2026
- Open interest reported
- $12.2 billion
- the scored venues' own figures as published by CoinMarketCap on 22 September 2026
- Round trip on $10,000
- $0.00 to $10.00
- two taker fills at the rate a new account pays, before any volume tier or rebate
- Deepest against thinnest book
- $29.2 million against $728.00
- the spread between the two BTC books no fee schedule will tell you about
Of the eight futures venues on this console, EVEDEX has the strongest outside security rating: CertiK Skynet scores it 94.36, grade AAA (read 23 September 2026). Aster is next at 93.88 AAA, then Hyperliquid 92.14 and Lighter 90.25, both AA; Extended reads 80.5, grade A.
| Venue | Skynet | Grade | Maker / taker | Round trip on $10,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EVEDEX | 94.36 | AAA | 0.015% maker / 0.045% taker | $9.00 |
| Aster | 93.88 | AAA | 0% maker / 0.040% taker | $8.00 |
| Hyperliquid | 92.14 | AA | 0.015% maker / 0.045% taker | $9.00 |
| Lighter | 90.25 | AA | 0% maker / 0% taker | $0.00 |
| edgeX | 88.14 | AA | 0.040% maker / 0.045% taker | $9.00 |
| dYdX | 82.05 | A | 0.010% maker / 0.050% taker | $10.00 |
| Paradex | 81.98 | A | 0% maker / 0% taker | $0.00 |
| Extended | 80.5 | A | 0% maker / 0.025% taker | $5.00 |
One firm's composite, read for every venue on this console on the same day so the column compares like with like, and revised when that firm revises it. It rates the project, not the trade: fees and the round trip beside it are what the console measures itself.
One row per venue, ordered by the score out of 16. The cell strip beside each score shows how much of the scale the venue has earned, so a cheap venue with a thin book reads differently from a deep one that charges for the privilege.
| # | Venue | Score | Points, cell by cell | Round trip on $10,000 | Maker / taker | Open interest | 24h volume | Markets | Model |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | Lighter | 13.3 | $0.00 | 0% / 0% | $585.4 million | $2.0 billion | 214 | Hybrid, ZK-proven | |
| 02 | Extended | 12.4 | $5.00 | 0% / 0.025% | $84.0 million | $612.8 million | 325 | Hybrid | |
| 03 | Aster | 12.2 | $8.00 | 0% / 0.040% | $1.4 billion | $3.2 billion | 578 | Own layer 1, operator-run | |
| 04 | edgeX | 11.9 | $9.00 | 0.040% / 0.045% | $635.5 million | $2.5 billion | 172 | Hybrid | |
| 05 | Hyperliquid | 10.9 | $9.00 | 0.015% / 0.045% | $8.7 billion | $13.4 billion | 324 | On-chain order book | |
| 06 | EVEDEX | 10.5 | $9.00 | 0.015% / 0.045% | $704.9 million | $700.5 million | 52 | Hybrid | |
| 07 | Paradex | 9.8 | $0.00 | 0% / 0% | $23.7 million | $21.8 million | 63 | Hybrid, Starknet appchain | |
| 08 | dYdX | 9.1 | $10.00 | 0.010% / 0.050% | $37.3 million | $87.8 million | 78 | App-chain, validator-held book |
Order-book depth30Round-trip cost25Loss and audit record15Settlement and withdrawal15Contracts listed10Getting started5how we rate
One formula for the whole site, fixed on 22 September 2026 before any venue was read, and the row order comes from it alone. The round trip is what two taker fills on a ten thousand dollar position cost at the entry tier. Open interest and 24-hour volume is self-reported by the venue and read from CoinMarketCap on 22 September 2026; market counts come from each venue's own documentation and interface, read on 18 September 2026.
Reported turnover is the easiest number on the internet to inflate, and it says nothing about what a market order would actually pay. So this column is measured instead: every ten minutes each public BTC perpetual book is read and what rests within ten basis points of the mid is recorded. The bars are medians of those readings, with the median spread beside them.
Bars are scaled to the deepest book on the list. Books read on this console's ten-minute poll, over the two days to 22 September 2026; every successful snapshot counts, 251 a venue at the middle of the range. No account was opened and no order was placed for these readings.
A leverage headline is a numerator printed without its denominator. The right-hand column supplies the missing half: the notional at which each documented BTC cap stops applying. Read the two together and a multiple that expires at 400 USDT stops resembling the same multiple carried to $50,000.
| Venue | Cap on BTC | Scale | Where the cap still holds |
|---|---|---|---|
| EVEDEX | 200x | band ends at $50,000; next band 100x to $200,000 | |
| Aster | 200x | band ends at 400 USDT; next band 100x to $800,000 | |
| edgeX | 100x | band ends at $1 million; next band 75x to $3 million | |
| Extended | 50x | band ends at $4 million; next band 25x to $8 million | |
| Lighter | 50x | 2% initial margin; no bands published | |
| Paradex | 50x | 2% initial margin; 300 BTC limit | |
| dYdX | 50x | 2% initial margin; no bands published | |
| Hyperliquid | 40x | band ends at $150 million; 20x beyond |
Caps from each venue's documentation, trading rules or public interface, read on 18 September 2026; every one of them steps down as the position grows, and the column on the right says where. Aster runs a separate one-tap mode that reaches far higher with a cap on the profit a position may take; that is not an order-book cap and is not in this table.
| Venue | Asset classes | Perpetual markets | Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lighter | crypto, stocks, FX, commodities, indices, pre-IPO, bonds | 214 | not stated in the documentation we read |
| Extended | crypto, stocks, FX, commodities, indices, pre-IPO | 325 | not stated in the documentation we read |
| Aster | crypto, stocks, FX, commodities, indices, pre-IPO | 578 | not stated in the documentation we read |
| edgeX | crypto, stocks, commodities, FX | 172 | not stated in the documentation we read |
| Hyperliquid | crypto, stocks, FX, commodities, indices | 324 | not stated in the documentation we read |
| EVEDEX | crypto, commodities, FX, stocks, indices, pre-IPO | 52 | All markets 24/7, shares and commodities included |
| Paradex | crypto, stocks, commodities, indices | 63 | not stated in the documentation we read |
| dYdX | crypto, commodities | 78 | not stated in the documentation we read |
Asset classes, market counts and trading hours as each venue's own documentation and interface reported them on 18 September 2026. A venue that lists a share or a currency settles it as a perpetual contract on that price, not as the instrument itself. What a venue asks for at the door is set out venue by venue on the ranking pages.
What the weights are trying to answer
Six criteria, and the two heaviest are the two a trader pays on every position. Depth carries 30 of the 100 points because it is the cost nobody publishes: across the capture cycle the deepest BTC book on this list held $29.2 million within ten basis points and the thinnest held $728.00, a gap of more than four orders of magnitude, while the whole spread between the cheapest and the dearest fee schedule here is $0.00 against $10.00 on a ten thousand dollar round trip. Round-trip cost takes 25 because it compounds with turnover. The record of audits and losses and the settlement question take 15 each; they decide what happens to collateral when something goes wrong, which is rarer than a fill and worse. Contract count takes 10 and sign-up friction 5, because a long list does not improve the fill on BTC and a first sign-in happens once.
Margin, funding and the close-out behind these caps
Every instrument named on this site is a perpetual contract carried on margin, and most of these venues will let a trader run it at a double or triple-figure multiple. At 100x a move of one percent against the position is the whole margin behind it; at 200x, half of one percent. Funding is charged or paid for every hour the position stays open, and every venue here operates cross margin by default, which means a loss in one contract is drawn from the collateral holding up the others. Auto-deleveraging can close a profitable position without asking when someone else's account goes negative. Nothing printed here is advice, and no row on this console is a reason to open a position: a leveraged perpetual can take the whole margin behind it, quickly.
Rankings
Comparisons
Method and definitions
Updated: | Console View operations | corrections to readout@wp-monero-miner.com